The Rick Crane Noir Podcast

Cooper's Daughter CoverStarted a new venture today: The Rick Crane Noir Podcast.

I set up an account on BlogTalkRadio and will start reading 15-minute podcasts of my Rick Crane Noir novels from Stay Thirsty Publishing. We’ll see how it works out. Just trying to generate some more interest for my novels, so that I can sell more books, make more money, move to Italy, and you can all come visit me.

I started today with Chapter 1 of “Cooper’s Daughter,” the first book in the series.

To remind everyone: Rick Crane is having his morning coffee at his favorite bar, Post Times, when Bill Cooper walks in. Cooper’s daughter, Darlene, has been murdered. The police don’t seem too interested, having quickly shuffled her case back to the Unsolved Crimes file.

“I’ll put it to you straight, Mr. Cooper,” I said. “You don’t strike me as a rich man.”

“Thirty years in the glass factory,” he said. “I ain’t rich, but I got some money saved.”

“Then why don’t you save it?”

“Because I can’t let my little girl end up like that.”

I felt sorry for the guy. Maybe it was his ratty clothing, or the look in his eyes. Whatever it was, I could tell that he’d spent 65 hard years trying to scratch out a living around here and about the only decent thing he’d done – in his mind anyway – was bring Darlene Cooper into the world. I knew if she ended up the way she had – an unsolved homicide statistic, found covered in soot in a dirty rail yard by a night watchman – it would break him.

“I’ll tell you what, Mr. Cooper. I got some business down in Binghamton. You keep your money for now. I’ll poke around a little. If I find anything, then we can talk about money.”

“You mean that Mr. Crane?”

“I don’t know who you talked to, but they should have told you that I’m a man of my word.”

“Thank you, Mr. Crane,” he said. “Let me give you my number.”

“That’s OK,” I said. “I’ll know where to find you.”

“Can I buy you a drink?” I asked him.

He looked at the bottles behind the bar the way a diabetic looks at a Hershey bar.

“I better not, Mr. Crane. It’s a little early…even for me.”

Check it out. I think you’ll like it.

About Mark Yost
Mark Yost is the author of the Rick Crane Noir series, published by Stay Thirsty Press. Rick Crane is the classic, anti-hero private eye in the spirit of Sam Spade and Jim Rockford. He works in the unmistakably noirish underworld of Upstate New York, running errands and fixing problems for Jimmy Ricchiati Sr., one of Upstate New York's most notorious crime bosses. But readers quickly learn that deep down, Rick Crane is one of the good guys. "Cooper's Daughter," the first book in the widely acclaimed series, is a fast-moving tale in which a heartbroken father comes to Rick and asks him to find out what really happened to his daughter, who was murdered and the details buried in the Unsolved Crimes File of the local police department. The second book in the series is "Jimmy's Nephew," which begins with the death of Joey "Boom Boom" Bonadeo, an up-and-coming boxer and the nephew of Rick's underworld boss. What starts out as a routine investigation turns into a case that will test Rick's faith -- in the Catholic Church and his fellow man. Book No. 3 in the series, "Mary's Fate" is due out in August 2015. Mark Yost also writes for The Wall Street Journal Arts in Review page, as well as the Book Review section. He is a member of the Mystery Writers of America -- Midwest Chapter, International Thriller Writers, and a number of other author groups. He is also a member of the Amazon Author's Program. Mark lives in the Loyola neighborhood of Chicago, but he and his son, George, call the Bensonhurst section of Brooklyn "home."

One Response to The Rick Crane Noir Podcast

  1. Lisa Marea says:

    Nothing like someone reading to you in bed at night. 15 minutes will be just enough to put me to sleep. Although with the kind of riveting action I’ve found in your books, I just might sleep with my eyes open.

Leave a Reply

